skip to primary navigationskip to content


4CMR Visitors

In part through collaboration with the Centre for Science and Policy and the Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership, 4CMR has hosted a steady stream of visitors from national, EU and other organisations wishing to learn about strategies to combat climate change. Recent visitors (or those who have hosted us) have included:

Robert Sorrell - Vice President for Public Partnerships, BP

Alice Raines - HM Treasury - Infrastructure Strategy Team, former Assistant Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS)

Stephanie Hurst - Head of Planning Resources and Environment Policy Division, Department for Communities and Local Government

Aphrodite Korou - Head of Standardisation Policy, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills

Liz Owen - Head of Customer Insight, Department of Energy and Climate Change

Graham Pendlebury - Director of Greener Transport & International, Department for Transport

Miles Elsden - Head of Defence and Security, Government Office for Science

Philip Langsdale - Chief Information Officer, BAA

Gary Kass - Principal Specialist, Evidence & Analysis Team, Natural England

Brendan Dick - Managing Director, BT Regions

Chris McFee - Head of Civil Contingencies Team, Government Office for Science
Patrick Allcorn, David Purdy and Tom Slater - Department of Energy and Climate Change, Community Energy and the Green Deal
Joel Rogers - YouGov, Director of YouGov-Cambridge
Greg Barker - Minister of State for Energy and Climate Change
Peter Quarmby - Environment Agency's South East Flood and Coastal Risk Manager
Miles Parker - Department of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Director of Science
John Tesh - Deputy Director [Capabilities] in the Cabinet Office's Civil Contingencies Secretariat
Nicole Dewandre - European Commission, Advisor to the Director General -INFSO
Mark Swindells - Private Secretary to the Secretary of State, Department of Work and Pensions
Gordon McGregor - Energy and Environment Director, Scottish Power
Mitchell Harris - Policy Advisor to the Ministry of Defense, examining the impact of climate change on the defence mission
Charles Kennel - Director, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
John Parkinson - Head of UK Aviation Policy, Department for Transport
David Hart - Head of Economic Regulations, British Airways
Jan Muller - European Union Chief Scientific Advisor
Andrea Lee - Deputy Director, Strategic Analysis, Department for Communities and Local Government
Simon Gardner - Evidence Manager, Environment Agency
Richard Mellish - Head of Green Deal Support and Delivery, Department of Energy and Climate Change
Chris Pook - Deputy Director, Green Economy Team, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.
Pauline Reeves - Deputy Director, Sustainable Transport and Equalities, Department for Transport.
Tom Spencer - Institute for Environmental Security and former EU Member of Parliament.
Paul Chamberlain - Head of Analysis for Neighborhoods Groups, Department for Communities and Local Government.
Colin Church - Director, Climate, Waste and Atmosphere, Department for Environment Food and Rural Affairs.
Brian Field - Urban Planning and Development, European Investment Bank
Su Wei - Chief Climate Negotiator and Director General, NDRC, China
David Mair - Head of Unit, Science Advice to Policy, EC Joint Research Centre
Virginia Murray - Head of Extreme Events and Health Protection, Health Protection Agency
Chris Ganje - Policy Advisor, BP
Charles Abel Smith - Green Investment Bank
Elisabeth Sukovic - Deputy Director, Science in Government, GOS
Niall Mackenzie - DECC, Head of Energy Efficiency (Industry)

Howard Covington - Chair, Science Museum of London

Jasdeep Sandhu - Head of Chief Scientific Advisor Cabinet, DFID

Jeff Masters and Mark Simmonds - Office of Shadow Business Secretary
Akshay Kaul - Project Director, Infrastructure UK, HM Treasury
Terry A'Hearn - CEO and Deputy Secretary, Northern Ireland Department of Environment
Toru Yamashita - Director, NTT Data, Japan
Craig Davies - Senior Manager, Climate Change Adaptation, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development

Harriet Wallace - Deputy Director, Labour Markets and Distributional Analysis, HM Treasury

Fiona Harrison - Deputy Chief Scientific Adviser, DEFRA

Matthew Quinn - Director, Environment, Department for Natural Resources and Food, Welsh Government

Aude Neuville - Policy Officer, EC Joint Research Centre

Claire Craig - Deputy Head, Government Office of Science

Mark Lee - Deputy Director, Economic and Social Planning Policy, Department of Communities and Local Government

Katrina Williams - Director General International, Science and Resilience Group, Department of Energy and Climate Change

Julia Unwin - Chief Executive, Joseph Rowntree Foundation
David Bent - Director of Sustainable Business, Forum for the Future
Liya Liu - Director, Institute of Comprehensive Transportation, National Reform and Development Commission, China
Tatsuro Ichihara - Advisor on International Business ASTEM RI, Kyoto
Guy Newsham - Principal Research Officer, National Research Council of Canada

Deborah Pullen - Group Research Director, BRE

Michael Luger - Director of the Centre for Infrastructure Development, University of Manchester Business School

Stuart Wainwright - Deputy Chief Scientific Adviser, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Nigel Campbell - Chief Analyst, Implementation Unit, Cabinet Office
Steve Wearne - Director of Policy, Food Standards Agency
Ricky Taylor - Senior Economic Advisor, Department of Communities and Local Government
Simon Sharpe - Head of Climate Risk Team, Foreign Commonwealth Office
Katy King - Advisor, Behavioural Insights Team (in partnership with the Cabinet Office)
4cmr logo large and transparent

4CMR has finished its cycle, and has been replaced by the Cambridge Centre for Environment, Energy and Natural Resource Governance (C-EENRG). C-EENRG is also located in the Department of Land Economy, with a core mission to "conduct integrative research on the governance of environmental transitions, understood as social and technological processes driven by environmental constraints that lead to fundamental changes in social organisation."

Read more